Joshua Angrist Named 2019 MacVicar Faculty Fellow

MIT News; March 5, 2019

Named to hon­or the life and con­tri­bu­tions of the late Margaret MacVicar, Professor of Physical Science and Dean for Undergraduate Education, the MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program rec­og­nizes fac­ul­ty who have made exem­plary and sus­tained con­tri­bu­tions to the teach­ing and edu­ca­tion of under­grad­u­ates at MIT. MIT President Charles M. Vest estab­lished the pro­gram in 1991. At the time, he noted:

Educational suc­cess at MIT depends, above all else, on the com­mit­ment and inven­tive­ness of our fac­ul­ty. Excellence in under­grad­u­ate teach­ing must be reward­ed and encour­aged. To this end, we are estab­lish­ing an endowed pro­gram to rec­og­nize fac­ul­ty mem­bers who have pro­found­ly influ­enced our stu­dents through their sus­tained and sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tions to teach­ing and cur­ricu­lum development.”

The MacVicar Faculty Fellows are select­ed through a com­pet­i­tive annu­al nom­i­na­tion process. They hail from all cor­ners of the Institute and rep­re­sent a diverse range of aca­d­e­m­ic dis­ci­plines. Together, the Fellows form a small acad­e­my of schol­ars com­mit­ted to excep­tion­al instruc­tion and inno­va­tion in edu­ca­tion, embody­ing through their work the con­tin­u­ing promise of an MIT edu­ca­tion for the future.